Saturday, 31 July 2010

Second in Series

Finished July 31
The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness
This is the second book in the Chaos Walking series that started with The Knife of Never Letting Go.
We start with Todd being separated from Viola and Mayor Prentiss having taking control of the town of Haven, now called New Prentisstown. He has also declared himself the President. The men and the women are separated again and strict rules are in place.
Todd and Viola are both told by Prentiss that he wishes for peace and a hopeful future, but neither of them trusts him.
Todd is paired with Prentiss' son Day and put to work outside the town.
Viola is in a healing house while she recovers from her injuries and learns a trade herself.
As we see the trust between the various players falter, and recover, only to falter again, the novel has us riding an emotional rollercoaster. Ness keeps throwing new problems into the novel and you never know what is going to happen next.
A great suspenseful read, with lots going on and the relationship between Todd and Viola developing to new levels. Looking forward to the next one.

No comments:

Post a Comment